top of page
Writer's pictureShreya

The Princess Will Save You






Summary: The Princess Will Save You is a YA fantasy adventure inspired by The Princess Bride, in which a princess must rescue her stable boy true love, from the acclaimed author of Sea Witch, Sarah Henning.


When a princess’s commoner true love is kidnapped to coerce her into a political marriage, she doesn’t give in—she goes to rescue him.


When her warrior father, King Sendoa, mysteriously dies, Princess Amarande of Ardenia is given what would hardly be considered a choice: Marry a stranger at sixteen or lose control of her family’s crown.


But Amarande was raised to be a warriornot a sacrifice.


In an attempt to force her choice, a neighboring kingdom kidnaps her true love, stable boy Luca. With her kingdom on the brink of civil war and no one to trust, she’ll need all her skill to save him, her future, and her kingdom.


My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

My thoughts:

I've had this book on my Want-To-Read Shelf for quite a while now, along with about a hundred other books, so it took a while to get to, but I finally did it and it was so good!

Before I say anything else, I should probably mention that I haven't read the Princess Bride before, so I'm not sure how close this is to the original.

One of the main things I liked about this book was the characters. They were all well-written and they had their own flaws, but my favorite was definitely Amanda! I just loved how fierce she was, even from the start of the book, but also how she had a soft spot for Luca.

Even the "villains" were written with many different sides to them, especially Oula, who was a kidnapper pirate who still cared about her kidnapees. One of my biggest pet peeves about books is when the protagonist is too perfect and the antagonist is too evil and at first, I was worried that this would be one of those books. But Sarah Henning did a great job with making realistic characters and keeping a balance between their different traits.

Plotwise, I felt that the plot was moving at a fairly moderate pace and it sped up a good amount towards the end since there were a few side-plots as well. There were multiple villains who were all fighting to either marry Amaranda or stop her from marrying, and so it was hard to know who to trust. If there was one thing that I didn't like as much, it was the fact that so much of the story was focused on Amaranda's journey, and only in the ending part did the real action began. But I'm still unsure about that since I liked parts of her journey as well and the ending made up for any parts when I was bored.

Overall, I really enjoyed "The Princess Will Save You" and am looking forward to the sequel!


12 views

Recent Posts

See All

コメント

コメントが読み込まれませんでした。
技術的な問題があったようです。お手数ですが、再度接続するか、ページを再読み込みしてださい。
bottom of page