top of page

Scout is Not a Band Kid- Blog Tour



Synopsis:


A young girl in middle school will do whatever it takes to meet her favorite

author even if it means joining her school band! A contemporary graphic novel about making your dream come true and the friends you make along the way.


When Scout learns that her favorite author is doing an exclusive autograph session at the end of the

year, she’s determined to be there! She officially needs a plan...and when she finds out that her

school’s band is heading to the same location for their annual trip, an idea takes shape. Being a band

kid can’t be that hard, right?


As it turns out, learning how to play an instrument when you can’t even read music is much, much,

MUCH tougher than expected. And it’s even harder for Scout when her friends aren’t on board with

her new hobby. Will she be able to master the trombone, make new band friends, and get to

her favorite author’s book signing? Tackling everything seems like a challenge for a supergenius

superfriend supermusician-and she’s just Scout.



Review


My Rating: 4 Stars


I don't generally read middle-grade graphic novels but I really enjoyed this one! It's such a cute and relatable story- Cute because of the art style and relatable because of her fangirling!


Characters:


I really liked both of the main characters, and the side characters were nice too, especially Mr.Varma! Seriously, though, he was such a nice band teacher and teacher in general, and I really appreciated his enthusiasm and encouragement.


Merrin

She seems mean on the outside but is really nice when once you get to know her, so as the book progressed I liked her more and more. She's very enthusiastic and passionate about the trombone and is actually encouraging at times though she can also be a tough tutor.


Scott:

Merrin said "I believe it's admirable to strive for things that are important to you." and Scout did that which I really liked about her. She thought band would be terrible and had no trombone skills whatsoever but went for it anyway to get the chance to meet her favorite author.


I probably gave a whole star just for Scout and how inspiring she was, to be honest. Yes, she missed out on a lot fo band practices at the start and yes she lied about her trombone skills but, also, she changed by the end and started to really become a band kid.


And also Merrin! I have to say it again, she was such a great character and watching their friendship grow as the book went on was definitely one of my favorite parts of this book.


I would have liked a more clear resolution with her friends who didn't accept her so that it would finish all the plot points it started, and I would have liked the whole novel to be in color instead of just parts of it, but overall, this was a really fun graphic novel that I'd recommend!



Mood Board



About The Author



My name is Jade Armstrong, and I am a non-binary cartoonist. I was raised in a little town called Almonte, Ontario, before heading off to Toronto to work in comics and animation. I’ve worked as a background painter in television for 4 years. At the moment, I float between Toronto, Almonte and Montréal.

More than anything I love to make comics.You can check out my full CV here! My debut middle grade graphic novel, SCOUT IS NOT A BAND KID, is set to be published by RandomHouse Graphics April 5th, 2022. I’m also a memberof the comics collective HELLO BOYFRIEND. We are a bunch of pals who lovecomics and make comics together!



Author Links:

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/19192880.Jade_Armstrong


And that's the end of my post for this Blog Tour! Thank you for reading!





14 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page